Wednesday, March 10, 2010

UNBELIEVABLE

Today I called BofA...but this time it wasn't to fight for a modification. I've given up on the idea that BofA will help us...because clearly, they won't!

Instead, I called to find out information about some alternatives to foreclosure that I recently read about. After waiting on hold for 15 minutes, I get through to a live person who asks for my account number/info and then tells me I have to call back because his computer is rebooting! LIAR...or maybe he is psychic. Our file must be soooo large that his computer couldn't hold all the information! I refuse to call back and asked to be transferred to someone else and he put me on hold for another 20 minutes. I am pretty sure I was lost in the BofA phone system and forgotten about so I hung up and hit redial.

After 10 more minutes on hold, I get another live person and you won't believe it but, we have a Sale Date and are in Foreclosure! I'm so glad she told me, I wasn't sure the 20 letters and the other 15 people who told me were being truthful. Thanks for the info, but here's what I need to know now...

I called to ask about a Deed in Lieu of Foreclosure and a new Obama program that starts on April 5th called Affordable Foreclosure Alternative Program (AFAP). Side note: I decided that since I am forced to go through this that I might as well take a class on Foreclosures and Short Sales and become an expert on the subject! The class is where I found info about these two possible alternatives to foreclosure.

Just as I thought, the BofA rep didn't know what the AFAP was. I already knew it was too late to try to sell our house and do a Short Sale. BofA strung us along too long, so that option is off the table. And as for the Deed in Lieu of Foreclosure, we would have to have our house on the market at fair market value for 90 days before that would consider it. I'm wondering now why BofA didn't give me this option or even tell me there was an option like this during our thousands of hours on the phone together.

Now here's the good part...the rep asked me if I had considered or tried to get a modification! You can only imagine the ear full she got from me! She put me on hold to look at my file more closely (and probably cry) and she came back with-"it looks like you are still in review and they are just waiting for the information about your insurance, but you are currently in a workout." UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!! Now imagine MY response to that........poor poor lady on the other end of the line! (The first guy's computer did him a favor by shutting down and rebooting!)

No comments:

Post a Comment